Six types of characters in Buddhism

Presented by Nymphaea Nymphaea

Carita is character or tendency. As long as the mental state of a living being has not reached the highest level of holiness, it still has a tendency. In the Visuddhimagga 101, there are discussions and explanations about the ways. Indeed, if the method is classified, then in ordinary humans there are only as many as six types of trends, namely:
1. Rāga-carita (disposition / greed)
People with rāga-carita have a tendency towards pleasant objects. He tends to do everything based on lust. In this case his mind is easy to like beauty and beauty and easy to admire even something with even a small aspect. He enjoys beautiful scenery, melodious sounds, fragrances, enjoys the pleasure of touch, the delicious taste of food. Other characteristics are easy to forget the mistakes of others, clever, arrogant, big ambition, selfishness. There are also objects of meditation that are suitable for the character of rāga-carita are 10 asubha (manifestations of disability) and kāyagatāsati (contemplation of the nature of the physical body).
2. Sins (hatred)
Sins are the tendency to do something based on hatred. Even small things and mistakes can make people offended. He is easily inflated, irritated, and easily provoked by trivial problems. Other characteristics are lack of care for the virtues of others, even though they are big, jealous, look down on others, love to fight, bossy and dictate to others. To weaken the sins, the appropriate object in carrying out meditation is the 4 noble brahmavihāra / residence (mettā, karunā, muditā, upekkhā) and 4 kasi ka colors (blue, yellow, red and white).
3. Moha-carita (character of ignorance / ignorance of the heart)
Having moha-carita means tending to act on ignorance. Therefore, he has the nature of being hesitant, worried without reason, lacking initiative, relying on the opinions of others, his mind is complicated and not fixed, but sometimes he can be firm in holding his stand. Happy to accept, but does not like giving, also one of its characteristics. This is not to show that the person is not intelligent, only weak in terms of inner wisdom. The appropriate meditation object is ānāpānasati (the natural entry and exit of breath).
4. Saddha-carita (tend to be strong in belief)
The existence of a saddha-carita makes a person tend to base his belief in doing something. He also tends to be humble, honest, helpful, happy about things that are considered sacred, likes to listen to teachings, easily believes in things he thinks are good. The objects of meditation suitable for them are six anussati (Buddhānussati, Dhammānussati, Sanghānussati, Silānussati, Cāgānussati, and Devatānussati). Thus they will avoid being wrong in believing / believing in things that are not good.
5. Buddhi-carita (temperament)
The characteristics of a person having buddhi-carita are that he bases his actions after thinking intellectually. He often meditates, is willing to listen to advice or advice from others, has good friends. He tends to contemplate 3 general features (tilakkhaṇa), namely impermanence (anicca), suffering (dukkha) and without the eternal core (anatta). The object of meditation suitable for this type of buddhism is contemplation of food (āhārepatikūlasaññā), contemplation on death (maraṇāsati), analysis of the four elements of the physical body (catudhātuvatthāna), and contemplation of the state of Nibbāna (upasamānussati).
6. Vitakka-carita (tends to daydream)
Vitakka-carita is in the form of thought
who often daydream or worry (thoughts wander aimlessly). This type of person tends to do things in a hurry, leading to nervousness. He likes to theorize, only a little confidence in the value of good deeds, and does not like to work for social purposes. Meditation objects suitable for vitakka-carita are ānāpānasati (in and out of breath). A suitable place is a simple place that is closed so that the attention is not wandering. For example, caves, empty rooms, and others.